Why should an incident be deleted?
Incidents should rarely be deleted. Once an incident is started, it should be seen through to the Founded/Unfounded decision.
However, there are times — mostly clerical — when an incident needs to be deleted. The most common reason would be that a duplicate incident was accidentally created.
It is possible, therefore, for a school district to delete an incident without contacting HIBster Support.
Who should delete an incident?
Only two Roles are able to delete an incident: the System Administrator and the District Coordinator.
The System Administrator has full administrative privileges, so it is able to delete an incident. The District Coordinator oversees every incident in the district, so it is able to delete an incident.
To delete an incident, the System Administrator or the District Coordinator does not have to be assigned to the incident. Those two users are able to delete an incident even if it is assigned to another user.
No other users are able to delete an incident. If a user needs an incident deleted, they should contact either the System Administrator or the District Coordinator.
How is an incident deleted?
To delete an incident, first locate in the incident in HIBster. Then, click to open it.
Once the incident is open to the General tab, scroll to the very bottom. In the bottom-right corner is a blue link named Delete Incident. Click it.
The system will ask that the deletion be confirmed. Click OK.
The incident is now deleted. It will no longer appear anywhere in HIBster.